EYFS Curriculum Overview


Everything in the Nursery and Reception is carefully planned and structured to help your child’s development. This is undertaken through the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum. The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is organised to take care of and develop the whole child and not just their academic learning. Our Foundation curriculum covers the following:-

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development;
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language;
  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the World;
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

The prime areas begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. In addition, there are four specific areas of learning. The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning.